Romeo x Juliet

Romeo x Juliet is an altered and anime version on the real story.

…[Source]

Both:
Genres: Action, Drama, Fantasy, Gender Bender, Romance, Shoujo, Tragedy.*
My Rating: 8

Anime:
Episodes: 24
Episode Length: 24minutes
Aired: April 2007- Sept 2007
Rated: PG13

Manga:
Author: Gonzo
Artist: Com
Released: 2007
Ended: 2009
Chapters: 9
Volumes: 2

Description: Sixteen year old Juliet has a secret identity. Every since Juliet was young, she has had to cross-dress like a boy. Now, she is a secret and rebellious hero of justice called the “Red Whirlwind.” One day while Juliet was running away from officials as usually, she bumped into Romeo Montague, the son of King Montague. For the two, it’s the beginning of their love story, but for them to unite together it will difficult and life threatening. Especially with the conflicting past of King Montague and Juliet’s family.

…[Source]

Notes:
– I have not read the manga. I didn’t even know there was one until now…
– Romeo x Juliet could be considered historical. I did not put it up in the genres because 1) it’s not like typical historical mangas/animes and 2) it isn’t very touchy on the history and setting, so anyone can read/watch it without feeling lost.
– King Montague = Lord Leontes Montague. Excuse my lazy-ness in the description.
–  I remember when I started to watch this anime years ago, that I thought it would be like the same classic Romeo and Juliet story. I wouldn’t have minded if it was, but I preferred this version of Romeo and Juliet so much more. I was surprised by the changes, I came to care for the characters. I would recommend giving this series a try.
– Read the manga here.

Leave a Reply

