Kamisama Hajimemashita

Despite my initial dislike of Kamisama Hajimemashita, overtime, I’ve grown to like it much more.

maxresdefault

Anime:
Genres: Drama, Fantasy, Romance, School Life, Shoujo.
My Rating: 7
Episodes: 13
Episode Length: 24 minutes
Aired: Oct 2012 – Dec 2012
Rating: PG13

Manga
Mangaka: Suzuki, Julietta
Released: 2008
Ended: 2016
Chapters: 154*
Volumes: 25

Description: Being poor and racked up with debts, Nanami Momozono is a cheerful high school girl. One day, when Nanami comes home from school, it turns out her father had spent all their remaining money on gambling and that they were broke. While her father ran away leaving her behind, Nanami ends up running away from the debt collectors to find herself at a park. At that park, Nanami meets someone named Mikage, who send her to his shrine to live. There, Nanami’s remaining normal life turns into a hectic adventure with spirits, gods, and a fox familiar named Tomoe.

Notes:
– *Although the manga has ended, not everything has been scanned into English (or other languages) yet.
– I have only read the manga.
– The anime has a second season and an OVA.
– As I mentioned above, Kamisama was manga that I really didn’t like. I found Nanami overly cliché, and I didn’t really like her relationship with Tomoe at first. It took me about 60 – 80 chapters to finally warm up and enjoy the characters and story. I’ll admit that even now I find myself unable to stand reading Kamisama from time to time, but it has definitely improved from the beginning. I would definitely recommend giving it a shot.

Source: Pic 1, Pic 2.

Leave a Reply

